PARENT VOLUNTEER INFORMATION
Registered Volunteer Cost - $35.00 Annual Renewal Fee $8.00 Payable online or in person by credit or debit card ONLY.
· Any person who has officially completed the online volunteer application.
· Fingerprinting will be completed at BPS/Educational Services Facility - Office of District and School Security.
· Successfully completed a VECHS Level II background check.
· Approved by the Office of District and School Security to serve as a BPS volunteer.
· Applicant will be notified upon of approval of application.
On Line Payment Option: https://www.e-billexpress.com/ebpp/BPSPayment/
Registered Volunteers, after completing their online application, will proceed to BPS/Educational Services Facility – Office of District and School Security for Fingerprinting and Payment.
BPS Educational Services Facility – Office of District and School Security:
2700 Judge Fran Jamieson Way
Viera, FL 32940
Fingerprinting Monday - Friday
8:00 am - 4:30 pm
Applicants will be required to disclose in our office ANY and ALL arrests (including military). Failure to disclose ANY and ALL arrests will result in automatic denial to become a Registered Volunteer for one year.
Why do I have to become a BPS “Brevard Public Schools” approved volunteer?
To ensure the safety of our students and security of our school campuses, all Brevard Public Schools volunteers are subjected to a criminal background check prior to approval.
How can I find out if my volunteer status is still valid?
You can check your volunteer status through your schools volunteer coordinator. Each school has a volunteer coordinator who has the ability to check the District’s visitor/volunteer management system and determine if your volunteer status is still valid. If your volunteer status has expired please visit the District’s website for renewal instructions.
How many years is a Registered Volunteer valid for?
Your registered volunteer status is good for one year. We will retain your fingerprints digitally and electronically resubmit your fingerprints to the Florida Department of Law enforcement for a fee of $8.00. Registered Volunteers will be notified via the email account associated with their application 60 days and 30 days prior to their renewal. You will not need to return to our office to be fingerprinted yearly.
Why do Volunteers need to be fingerprinted?
Registered Volunteers MUST be fingerprinted. The Level II background check that is conducted via the fingerprint submission to the FBI national database gives us the ability to know definitively who is in direct contact with our students.
What is a Level II background screening?
The FBI, Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE) and Florida Department of Education (FDOE) all use state-of-the-art electronic equipment to process fingerprints through the Florida Crime Information Center (FCIC) and the National Crime Information Center (NCIC). A level II background screening will provide the District with a summary of any criminal arrest, as well as the case disposition.
I have a “security clearance” for my job. Can those fingerprints be utilized for this purpose?
The State of Florida does not have a shared database that would allow us to access another agencies employee fingerprints. The systems utilized by the federal government, contractors of the United States government and private companies are disparate systems and communicate and store data in different manners.
What is a Registered Volunteer able to do?
Registered Volunteers are able to work in the classroom and around the schools. They will also be able to work one on one with students and attend in county and out of county field trips.
I have a previous arrest history that I do not want anyone to see. Who has access to the information that I provide to be fingerprinted?
The information we receive from the FBI is highly confidential and pursuant to Florida law it may only be shared with appropriate personnel relating to the volunteer process.
In order to be fingerprinted, what do I bring to the Office of District and School Security?
A valid driver license or state identification card and a credit or debit card for payment.