Return to Headlines

Teachers at 37 BPS schools eligible for Best & Brightest retention bonuses

Sept. 26, 2019 


VIERA, Florida – Classroom teachers in 37 Brevard County public schools will be eligible for the Florida Department of Education’s new Best & Brightest retention bonuses of up to $2,500. (See list below.)


Classroom teachers rated “highly effective” could receive retention bonuses of $2,500, while teachers rated “effective” could receive $1,000. The purpose of the 2019 Best & Brightest Teacher Program is “to recruit, retain, and recognize teachers who meet the needs of this state and have achieved success in the classroom,” says the Florida law creating the retention bonuses.


Details on how Brevard Public Schools will distribute the bonuses will be announced soon. (Correction: an earlier version of news release included state language about applications, which was incorrect.) 


Eligibility for a Best & Brightest retention bonus requires a classroom teacher to:


·         Teach in a school which has improved an average of three percentage points or more over three years on the total possible points achieved on Florida’s school-grading scale.

·         Be rated “highly effective” or “effective” on the preceding year’s performance evaluation.

·         Teach in an eligible school for two consecutive school years (including the current year).


The Best & Brightest retention-bonus program replaces a former program that tied bonuses to teachers’ past scores on their college entrance exams such as the SAT and ACT.


Brevard public schools receiving 2019 Best & Brightest allocations include:

·         Atlantis Elementary

·         Bayside High

·         Cape View Elementary

·         Christa McAuliffe Elementary

·         Cocoa Beach Jr./Sr. High

·         Cocoa High

·         Columbia Elementary

·         Coquina Elementary

·         DeLaura Middle

·         Endeavour Elementary

·         Enterprise Elementary

·         Fairglen Elementary

·         Gemini Elementary

·         Golfview Elementary Magnet School

·         Harbor City Elementary

·         Imperial Estates Elementary

·         Indialantic Elementary

·         Johnson Middle

·         Jupiter Elementary

·         Lewis Carroll Elementary

·         Lockmar Elementary

·         Longleaf Elementary

·         Madison Middle School

·         Merritt Island High

·         MILA Elementary

·         Mims Elementary

·         Ocean Breeze Elementary

·         Palm Bay Elementary

·         Port Malabar Elementary

·         Palm Bay Magnet Senior High School

·         Riviera Elementary

·         Sea Park Elementary

·         Space Coast Jr./Sr. High

·         Stone Magnet Middle School

·         Turner Elementary

·         University Park Elementary

·         Viera High


In order to qualify for Best & Brightest funds, applicants must be K-12 classroom teachers as defined by Florida Statute 1012.01(2)(a).