Return to Headlines

Brevard Public Schools Names Principal of the Year


Jud Kaminski of Palm Bay Magnet High Named Principal of the Year


VIERA, Florida – Jud Kaminski, principal of Palm Bay Magnet High School, has been named Brevard Public Schools’ Principal of the Year. Kaminski began his tenure at Palm Bay Magnet High in January of 2016. Having worked in the community and being a graduate of PBMHS, he knew many of the parents, students and community members, and was able to immediately build upon those relationships.

Mr. Kaminski's positive relationships and his willingness to do whatever is possible to support his stakeholders has enabled him to establish a caring and respectful culture. School leaders across the county look to him for mentorship on building relationships and culture. Mr. Kaminski encourages students to do their best and promotes their successes through the PBMHS Facebook page. He works with his teacher leaders and administrative team to analyze data, promote equitable access for all, and develop successful classrooms.

In this challenging year, Mr. Kaminski was able to train over 60% of his staff in AVID strategies enabling the school to begin the process of AVID demonstration. He has established partnerships with local churches and the NAACP. This year Mr. Kaminski serves as commissioner of the Cape Coast Conference and is on the Board of Directors for the Evan Center. Additionally, a Proclamation on Black History Month was presented by the City of Palm Bay to Mr. Kaminski and Palm Bay HS for their participation and celebrations. Mr. Kaminski is a strong, professional leader who is committed to the success of his students, staff and Palm Bay High School.

Candidates for BPS Principal of the Year were nominated and evaluated based on their performance on:

  • Student achievement
  • Instructional leadership
  • Faculty development
  • Learning environment

Kaminski will go on to interview in the state competition for Florida Principal of the Year.

BPS would also like to recognize and celebrate our finalists for Principal of the Year:

Jasmine DeLaughter - McNair Magnet Middle                                                

Victoria Finsted - Christa McAuliffe Elementary

Jud Kaminski – Palm Bay Magnet High

Jud Kaminski Named Principal of the Year