Return to Headlines

BPS has 29 Semifinalists in the 2023 National Merit Scholarship Program

(Evanston, Illinois) Today officials of National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC®) announced the names of over 16,000 Semifinalists in the 68th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,250 National Merit Scholarships worth nearly $28 million that will be offered next spring. To be considered for a Merit Scholarship® award, Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition. About 95 percent of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing, and approximately half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar® title.


Read the full press release from the National Merit Scholarship Corporation here.


Twenty-nine students from Brevard Public Schools are Semifinalists for this year’s National Merit Scholarship Program.


Congratulations to BPS’ Semifinalists:

Luke Bachand, Edgewood H. S.

Emma Carpenter, Viera H. S.

Brian Cheng, Edgewood H. S.

Nishka Dalal, Edgewood H. S.

Malvika Deka, West Shore H. S.

Carlo Fraley, Edgewood H. S.

Darleen Ge, West Shore H. S.

Alicia Gleacher, Edgewood H. S.

Andrew Grachoff, Cocoa Beach H. S.

Ethan Hacker, Cocoa Beach H. S.

Ayush Jain, Edgewood H. S.

Johnnie Jones, Cocoa Beach H. S.

Payton Kapatoes, West Shore H. S.

Thanmay Kumar, Edgewood H. S.

Archi Mehta, Cocoa Beach H. S.

Anthony Menendez, West Shore H. S.

Aidan Meyers, West Shore H. S.

Spencer Munshi, Merritt Island H. S.

Brianna Nguyen, Viera H. S.

Jackson Parks, Rockledge H. S.

Isabelle Pearson, West Shore H. S.

Isabelle Sealey, Satellite H. S.

Abigail Shepard, Edgewood H. S.

Sebastian Trujillo, Rockledge H. S.

David Veizaj, Edgewood H. S.

Max Vu, West Shore H. S.

Chase Wagner, Satellite H. S.

Ethan Whiting, Edgewood H. S.

Andy Yang, West Shore H. S.