Return to Headlines

BPS Selects 2023 Sunshine State Scholars

Brevard Public Schools has selected Torrin Gordon, a junior at Bayside High School, and Thien-Nhi Nguyen, a junior at West Shore Jr/Sr High School, to represent Brevard as Florida Sunshine State Scholars.

Torrin is passionate about socioeconomics and intends to pursue a career in asset management. Torrin is the founder of the Bayside Investment Club, contributor to financial news website Seeking Alpha, and captain of the varsity swim team. "The desire for our country to have an economic system that is both innovative and works for all inspires me to work everyday to create it."

Thien-Nhi Nguyen is a junior at West Shore Jr./Sr. High School. She is highly involved in various STEM activities, including Math Counts, HOSA, and Cyber Patriots.  Her research in microbiology has landed her the Collins Aerospace Award and Scientific Achievement Award at the Brevard County Regional Science Fair.  Thien-Nhi recognizes the importance of giving back to her community which is evidenced through her nearly 500 hours of tutoring.  “I plan on using my programming skills to administer Vitamin C, as well as EGCG, treatments I have experimented with, to cancer patients quickly and comfortably.”

Each of Florida’s school districts selects their top 11th grade students in the areas of Science, Technology, Engineering or Mathematics (STEM). Each Sunshine State Scholar, along with their parents, will travel to Orlando in April for an extraordinary two-day program designed to bring together scholars from around the state, connect them with employers that specialize in the STEM fields, and create a networking opportunity between the scholars and schools from Florida’s College and State University System.

Congratulations to Brevard’s Sunshine State Scholars, Torrin Gordon and Thien-Nhi Nguyen, as well as the following finalists from Brevard Public Schools:

  • Ryleigh Rendina from Astronaut High School
  • Xavier Fairclough from Astronaut High School
  • Brian Yoen from Bayside High School
  • Lexi Weiss from Cocoa Jr/Sr High School
  • Katherine Harrington from Cocoa Beach Jr/Sr High School
  • Yahia Beasha from Cocoa Beach Jr/Sr High School
  • Ethan Abraham from Eau Gallie High School
  • Layla Hernandez from Heritage High School
  • Noah Aldana from Heritage High School
  • Allison Walkup from Rockledge High School
  • Garrett Urso from Rockledge High School
  • Lana Stout from Satellite High School
  • Roman Perez from Satellite High School
  • Aiden Warren from Space Coast Jr/Sr High School
  • Shahd Abuelsoud from Space Coast Jr/Sr High School
  • Ella Benson from Titusville High School
  • Santiago Fernandez from Titusville High School
  • Neta Elran from Viera High School
  • Pranav Ponnusamy from West Shore Jr/Sr High School